Matchbox Twenty – Bent

Matchbox Twenty – Bent

“Can you help me? I’m bent
I’m so scared that I’ll never
Get put back together
Keep breaking me in
And this is how we will end (how we will end)
With you and me ending, without understanding”

It’s an old song who’s performed by my favorite band, which I often listened when I was in junior high. I just love the vocalist’s voice and their music. Though, I don’t hear any hits from them anymore, this particular song still echoes in heart, especially at this time where I can relate well.

If you never heard this song before, try listening it. It’s really a nice song that full of emotions. The song tells the desperation of ‘him’ whose relationship is already on the edge but still wants to fix it, even though both of parties are already broken enough.  He’s tired but still wants to work it out somehow, but she just didn’t show an understanding and thinks he’s too needy. It’s kind of sad situation, where the other party just don’t want to listen and try to see how he’s trying his best to match her expectation.

But, the song is more than a sad love song. It’s giving a strong vibe and emotion about a man who knew his relationship is beyond repaired yet still trying to fix it. The desperation and the deep love are conveyed through the beginning till the ending. He’s kind of saying “Both of us are broken, why not being broken together then”. It’s really touching, for me.

Here is the full lyric:

Artist: Matchbox Twenty
Title: Bent
Album: Mad Season
Matchbox Twenty – Bent
Taken from the 2000 album “Mad Season”

If I fall along the way
Pick me up and dust me off
And if I get too tired to make it
Be my breath so I can walk

If I need some other love, then…
Give me more than I can stand
And when my smile gets old and faded
Wait around, I’ll smile again

Shouldn’t be so complicated
Just hold me and then
Just hold me again

Can you help me? I’m bent
I’m so scared that I’ll never
Get put back together
Keep breaking me in
And this is how we will end (how we will end)
With you and me… bent

If I couldn’t sleep… could you sleep?
Could you paint me better off?
Could you sympathize with my needs?
I know you think I need a lot

I started out clean but I’m jaded
Just phoning it in
Just breaking the skin

Can you help me? I’m bent
I’m so scared that I’ll never
Get put back together
Keep breaking me in
And this is how we will end (how we will end)
With you and me… bent

Start bending me
It’s never enough
‘Till I fell all your pieces
Start bending me
Keep bending me
Until I’m completely broken in

Shouldn’t be so complicated
Just touch me and then
Just touch me again

Can you help me? I’m bent
I’m so scared that I’ll never
Get put back together
Keep breaking me in
And this is how we will end (how we will end)
With you and me ending, without understanding

Hell, I’ll go there again
Can you help me? I’m bent
I’m so scared that I’ll never
Get put back together
Yeah, you’re breaking me in
And this is how we will end (how we will end)
With you and me… bent

Leave a Reply

